Skip to content

The summer of our non-content: Part II

September 6, 2009

One of my chief regrets about studying for the bar exam is that I didn’t have time to properly address the staff turnover at the Town Crier this summer.  Say what you will about Best Of Mountain View; at least when the Voice gives people free advertising, it writes the material itself.

(In the interests of full disclosure, I should mention at this point that I once applied for a job with the Town Crier.  For my audition, I was assigned to write a profile of a gimmicky barber for children called Just Kids.  Despite writing what I considered to be some topnotch fluff, and being told I had a “winning attitude,” I did not get the job.  I was later told that the publisher had decreed that I would be too controversial).

This summer, the Town Crier was once again hiring.  I unfortunately was unable to apply.  But the paper still had to fill its news pages while being short-staffed.  The Daily News-esque “Discover Los Altos” campaign was enough to fill the editorial pages.  Press releases from the publisher’s South Peninsula Area Republican Coalition again helped fill the inside news pages.  And, in the coup-de-grace, the paper ran a front-page story about the police department from none other than the police department itself.  It’s hard to imagine what a newspaper could do to better caricature itself, but I’m sure the Town Crier will think of something

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

